Barstobrick is located just outside Ringford, near Castle Douglas in Dumfries & Galloway.

The Farm

As well as the tourism business Barstobrick is part of Fellend Farm. This is a dairy farm run by the Austin family. The milk is sold to Lactalis who have a processing plant in Stranraer and produce the Seriously Strong cheese brand you will find in the supermarkets.  The price the farm gets is dependent on the quality and cleanliness of the milk. This means high standards of animal welfare are crucial to the success of the business.

In 2014 the farm changed from all beef cows and sheep to predominantly dairy cows. However, we still keep some suckler cows to produce Aberdeen Angus Beef.

Although running a farm alongside a tourism business can prove challenging at times. We feel that it is good to welcome the public to the countryside to help them better understand where their food comes from.

Neilson's Monument

The site at Barstobrick has been inhabited for over 1500 years when an ancient Iron Age Hill Fort was built on Barstobrick Hill.  The Hill now boasts Neilson’s Monument, erected in 1883 to commemorate the life of James Beaumont Neilson – an inventor whose hot blast process helped improve the practice of smelting iron.

Neilson became a wealthy man; he lived and died on his estate at Queenshill where we now have holiday cottages.

Queenshill estate

The Estate was named after Mary Queen of Scots visited the area before she made her final journey to London where she was executed for her involvement in plots to assassinate the English Queen Elizabeth. She is said to have rested and received refreshments here before continuing on her journey to the coast near Dundrennan where she took her last steps on Scottish soil and sailed from a place now known as Port Mary to a place on the Cumbrian coast now called Maryport.

Find out more on the Queenshill Country Cottages website.

Location Map

Barstobrick, Ringford, Castle Douglas, DG7 2AU